The ERA Call The Congressional Judiciary Chairs


_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________LEGISLATIVE ACTION!

 Congressional Judiciary: We demand hearings on resolutions removing deadline for ratification of ERA. #Advocate4ERA

Call the Congressional Judiciary Committee Chairs. Tell them to hold hearings on Joint Resolutions (S.J. Res. 5 and H.J. Res. 53): Removing the deadline for the ratification of the equal rights amendment.

CALL Senator Chuck Grassley: 202-224-3744 and Congressman Steve King: 202-225-4426

Thanks to the late Equal Rights Amendment (ERA) champion, Congresswoman Bella Abzug, on Saturday, August 26, 2017, Women’s Equality Day Celebrations will be held across the nation.

Abzug’s Joint Congressional Resolution proclaiming August 26 of every year Women’s Equality Day passed in 1971. The day is a tribute to the 1920 ratification of the 19th Amendment, guaranteeing American women the right to vote, and calls on the President of the United States to issue a Proclamation on this historic
date every year. Until the ERA is ratified, the day serves as a reminder of the continued struggle to obtain full equality under national law.

The ERA: “Equality of rights under the law shall not be denied or abridged by the United States or by any state on account of sex.”

While most Americans support Constitutional equality for women, most do not realize the ERA has not yet been fully ratified. The first version was  introduced to Congress in 1923 and finally passed out of both chambers in its current form nearly fifty years later, in 1972. The ERA was sent to the states with a “deadline” of seven years to obtain ratification from the thirty-eight states required written into the proposing clause of the amendment. In 1979, Congress extended the arbitrary deadline for three more years. In 1982, the ERA stalled with three more states needed to ratify the amendment into the U.S. Constitution. 

Thirty-five years later, on March 22, 2017, Nevada became the thirty-sixth state to ratify the ERA! That means only 2 states ratification and a subjective deadline stand in the way of ERA becoming the 28th Amendment.

This Women’s Equality Day we have much to celebrate but there is still work to be done. Please do your part by picking up the phone and making 2 quick calls. A couple minutes of your time will make a world of difference. 

Call the Congressional Judiciary Committee Chairs. Tell them to hold hearings on Joint Resolutions (S.J. Res. 5 and H.J. Res. 53): Removing the deadline for the ratification of the equal rights amendment.

CALL: Senator Chuck Grassley: 202-224-3744 and Congressman Steve King 202-225-4426

Need all hands on deck to secure co-sponsors for Congresswoman Jackie Speier’s ERA legislation H.J.Res 53 introduced 01/31/2017.

The following is the latest list of co-sponsors:

See if your Member of Congress is here. If not, call them – US Capitol Switchboard (202) 224-3121 – and tell them to sign on by contacting Congresswoman Speier’s office: (202) 225-3531.



Adams, Barragan, Beatty, Beyer, Blumenauer, Bonamici, Bordallo, Boyle, Brady, Brown, Brownley, Bustos, Butterfield, Capuano, Carbajal, Cárdenas, Carson, Cartwright, Castor, Castro, Chu, Cicilline, Clark, Clarke, Clay, Clyburn, Cohen, Connolly, Conyers, Courtney, Crist, Cummings, Davis (CA), Davis (IL-7), DeFazio, DeSaulnier, Deutch,  DeGette, Delaney, DeLauro, DelBane, Dingell, Doyle, Ellison, Engel, Eshoo, Espaillat, Evans, Foster, Frankel, Fudge, Gabbard, Gallego, Garamendi, Gonzalez, Green, Grijalva, Gutierrez, Hastings, Heck, Higgins, Himes, Hoyer, Huffman, Jackson, Jayapal, Jeffries, Johnson (TX), Johnson (GA), Kaptur, Keating, Kelly, Kennedy, Khanna, Kihuen, Kildee, Kilmer, Kind, Krishnamorrthi, Kuster, Langevin, Lawrence,  Levin, Larsen, Larson, Lawson, Lee, Lieu, Lobeseck, Lowenthal, Lowey, Lujan Grisham, Lynch, Maloney (NY-12), Maloney (NY-18), Matsui, McCollum, McGovern, McNerney, Meeks, Moore, Moulton, Nadler, Napolitano, Nolan, Norcross, Norton, Pallone, Pascrell, Payne, Perlmutter, Peters, Pingree, Plaskett, Pocan, Price (NC), Quigley, Raskin, Rice, Richmond, Rosen, Roybal-Allard, Rush, Ruiz, Ruppersberger, Ryan (OH), Sánchez, Sarbanes, Schakowsky, Schiff, Schneider, Schrader, Scott (VA), Serrano, Shea-Porter, Sherman, Simena, Sires, Slaughter, Smith, Soto, Swalwell, Takano, Thompson (MS), Thompson (CA), Titus, Tanko, Torres, Tsongas, Vargas, Velazquez, Veasey, Walz, Wasserman Schultz, Watson Coleman, Wilson, Welch, Yarmuth

PLEASE NOTE: 4 Republicans—we think they would be most rewarding to have from the get go!

Rep. Frelinghuysen, Rodney P. [R-NJ-11]

Rep. Dent, Charles W. [R-PA-15]

Rep. Reed, Tom [R-NY-23]

Rep. Lance, Leonard [R-NJ-7]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *